23 July 2016

NDC holds Bunkpurugu primary elections today

NDCThe Northern Regional director of elections for the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Rashid Tanko, has indicated that the parliamentary primary for the Bunkpurugu Constituency will be held today.

According to him, candidates who will battle to represent the party in the December 7 elections are Jagong Tahidu, Azumah Konlan, Duut Bonchel Abdulai, Dr. Benson Boinkum Konlan and Bueteem Anthony Gingong.

The exercise will be held at 27 clustered polling stations in the constituency from 7am to 3pm.

The Tamale High Court, presided over by Justice Charles Gyamfi Danquah, ruled in favour of the NDC in a case between the party and Mr. Nanburi Derrick, a failed parliamentary aspirant for the constituency.

Derrick, former MP for the area, took the party to court challenging the decision by the National Executive Committee (NEC) to delete his name from the list of qualified party members who were desirous of contesting in the primary, over allegation that he was joining Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings’ National Democratic Party (NDP).

He prayed the court to prevent the NDC from holding a parliamentary primary in the constituency but the court eventually gave a verdict that favoured the party.

According to the director of elections, Rashid Tanko, the NDC demanded an amount of GH¢100,000.00 as compensation; and Mr. Nanburi Derrick was virtually on his knees begging. Finally, the judge ordered him to pay an amount of GH¢20,000.00.

“The party is not interested in the money but we want to send out signals to his types who always try to turn the development of the party backwards,” Mr Tanko underscored.

Please follow and like us:


Write a comment

9+8 = ?