Minister swears-in Ghana Refugee Board members

Robert Anane, GNA

Accra, July 10, GNA – Mr Ambrose Dery,
Minister of Interior on Monday swore-in an 11-member newly appointed members of
the Ghana Refugee Board.

Administering the Official Oath, the Minister
said Ghana was a relatively peaceful and safe country in a region of turbulence
and therefore attracted more persons in distress within the sub-region. 

“Ghana therefore hosts nearly 14,000 refugees
who have escaped from ravages of war in their respective countries,” he said.

The Minister noted that with refugee matters
becoming complex in recent years, there was the need to tackle its root cause
within the sub-region in particular and the continent as a whole, adding that
urgent collaboration among state parties was needed “to help to stem this
growing menace”.

Mr Derry reminded the Board members, that the
complexity of refugee problems had informed their appointments, adding that
their in depth knowledge and expertise in refugee matters was therefore
noteworthy and heartwarming.

He observed that whilst some of the provisions
of the Ghana Refugee Law, 1992, were out-dated and needed to be reviewed, Ghana
was yet to ratify the two UN Conventions relating to Stateless persons and

“I expect the Board, in collaboration with the
Ministry to get these Conventions ratified. Indeed, out of the 15-member ECOWAS
States, only two states including Ghana are yet to ratify these Conventions,”
he said.

Mr Dery said if the conventions were ratified,
the Board would also be expected to assume the new mandate and responsibility
of seeking and finding measures for preventing “Statelessness” as recognised by
the 1954 and 1961 UN Conventions.

He urged the Board to look at issues of
durable solutions for refugees in Ghana saying, “I am confident, that you would
rise to the occasion by giving deep thought to these issues, and offer the best
advice to the Ministry on the way forward.”

Chaired by Professor Kenneth Attafuah,
Executive Secretary of National Identification Authority, the Board also includes;
Mrs Audrey Naana Abayena-Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration,
Mr Laud Kwesi Ofori Affrifa-Dep Commisioner-Ghana Immigration Service, and Mr
Gavivina Yao Tamakloe, NADMO.

The others are Mr Clarence Kuwuornu-Ministry
of Justice and Attorney General’s Department, Divine Ayidzou-Ministry of
Education, Mr Anthony Ayensu-Asare-BNI and Mr Edmund Quartey, UNHCR.

The rest are Ms. Rosemary Abbey-Ministry of
Interior, ACOP Frederick Adu Anim-Ghana Police Service and Mrs Frederica Owuani
Department of Social Welfare.


Please follow and like us:


Write a comment

8+7 = ?