Kotoko lifts 2017 President’s Cup

Stephen Asante, GNA

Kumasi, July 03, GNA –
Asante Kotoko F/C outclassed its archrival, Accra Hearts of Oak, in a penalty
shoot-out to win the 2017 UBA President’s Cup at the Baba Yara Stadium, Kumasi,
on Monday.

The Porcupine Warriors
drew 0-0 with the Phobians in regulation time and went ahead to record a 4-1
scintillating victory over the latter in the penalty kicks.

Skipper Amos Frimpong,
Evans Quao, Jackson Owusu and Sidique Adams were on the scoring sheet for
Kotoko, while Vincent Atinga and Robin Gnagne, both missed their kicks.          Richard Akrofi got the only goal for

The Minister of Youth
and Sports, Mr. Isaac Asiamah, presented the UBA sponsored cup to the joyous
side with skipper Frimpong leading his team mates into a frenzy as they paraded
the trophy across the length and breadth of the pitch in appreciation of the
massive support they had had from their followers.

The match was played
on a high note in the first half with both sides making things tight in the

Kotoko made the first
incursion for a goal in the eight minute as they were awarded a corner kick,
but Baba Mahama’s cross was wasted.

Hearts followed up
with a dangerous move in the 31st minute, and it was speedster, Patrick Razak,
who rounded off two defenders in a counter-attack and let go a decent pass
across the Kotoko goal area.  But there
was nobody to connect home.

Two minutes later, it
was Razak who would deliver a thunderbolt of a shot, but was cleared off the
goal line by Kotuku’s Evans Quao. 

The Porcupine Warriors
responded quickly and marshalling more men in midfield kept the slippery
Phobian attack at bay to end the first half.          

The two combatants
fought fiercely to control the game, and in the process resorted to rough play,
which nearly marred the beauty of the game.

Kotoko brought on
Richard Osei Agyemang for Ahmed Adams, while Sidique Adams replaced Yakubu
Mohammed. On the other hand, Hearts introduced Malik Akowah for Samudeen
Ibrahim with Richard Akrofi also substituting Leonard Tawiah.

The changes had a
minimal significance on the match, and the two sides would approach the match
carefully in the dying minutes to end the regulation time 0-0.    


Please follow and like us:


Write a comment

1+9 = ?