Ghana Energy Awards launch slated August 30

By D.I. Laary, GNA

Accra, Aug. 20,
GNA – The Ghana Energy Awards in what will become the leading endorsement of
the country’s energy sector recognizing outstanding achievements of industry
players will be launched on August 30.

The country’s
first ever awards to recognize gurus in the energy sector is set to open
nominations from September 1, 2017 to September 30, 2017.

Mr Henry Teinor,
Chief Executive Officer of Energy Media Group – Organizer of the event – told
the Ghana News Agency, after a panel discussion that the Awards would honour
efforts by players in moving the power sector as well as the oil and gas areas.

He said oil and
gas upstream, midstream and downstream players would form core part of the prospective
awardees in the final event fixed on November 30.

The event is
planned to recognize exceling players in 20 different categories including
Energy Personality of the year, Best Energy Reporter of the year, Industry
Leadership Award and Renewable Energy Company of the year.

Others are Energy
Institution of the year, Innovation Project of the year, Rising Star Award,
Emerging Energy Company of the year, Lifetime achievement award amongst a host
of others.

The Awarding
panel chaired by Dr Kwame Ampofo, an Energy Expert, and the immediate past
Board chairman of the Energy Commission, would address a press conference at
the August 30 launch to explain the criteria for awarding winners, Mr Teinor

Other panel
members include Professor Stephen Adei, former Rector of GIMPA; Dr Lawrence
Tetteh, Renowned international Evangelist, an Economist and Lawyer; Mr Kwame
Jantuah, Vice Chairman for the Public Interest Accountability Committee; Dr
Jemimah, Ag Director, Centre for Management Development Senior; Professor
Joseph Aggrey-Fynn, Dean of Oil and Gas Studies, UCC; and Mrs Harriette
Amissah-Arthur, Energy Consultant.

Energy Minister,
Senior Minister, Trade Minister, Lands and Natural Resources minister,
diplomats and many top energy sector personalities have been invited to grace
the awards event.

Mr Teinor said
industry regulators and watchers including representatives from the Energy
Ministry, Energy Commission, National Petroleum Authority, Petroleum Commission
Ghana, Chamber of Bulk oil distributors, Association of oil marketing
companies, Chamber of Petroleum Consumers have been invited panel discussions
ahead of the awards day.

“Not only does it
make it unique and transparent but industry owned where relevant stakeholders
are engaged in every procedure of the award process,” he said.

He said aside the
partnership deal reached with several stakeholders, the awards have received
full endorsement from Ghana’s Ministry of Energy.

“Ernst and Young
will validate the results of the nominees and announce the winners,” he said.


Please follow and like us:


Write a comment

7+7 = ?