Curfews on Bunkpurugu, others renewed

Interior Minister, Prosper Bani

Interior Minister, Prosper Bani

The Ministry of Interior has renewed the curfew hours in some towns in the Northern and Volta regions.

The Interior Ministe

r, Prosper Bani in a statement said the decision was taken on the advice of Security Councils of Bunkpurugu, Kpatinga, Bimbilla, Nkonya and Alavanyo.

The curfews were imposed to help restore peace in these areas after some disputes erupted there resulting in loss of lives and property.

The curfew hours on Bunkprugu Township which was last reviewed to run from 6:00 pm – 6:00 am in March this year has been further changed to 8.00pm to 6:00am effective Tuesday, 26  July 2016.

From Friday, July 22, residents of Alavanyo and Nkonya in the Volta region have between the hours of 11:00pm and 5:00am to stay indoors in the towns.

Residents of Kpatinga in the Northern region will from Friday 22nd July 2016 observe a 12.00 midnight to 4:00am curfew.

Chiefs, Opinion Leaders, Youth and People of these areas have been urged to use non-violent means in resolving conflicts.

The Government has charged them to channel their energies into ensuring peace to the area.

The statement added that “there is a total ban on all persons in Bunkprugu, Kpatinga, Nkonya and AlavanyoTownships and surrounding areas from carrying arms, ammunition or any offensive weapon, and any person found with any arms or ammunition will be arrested and prosecuted.”

Please follow and like us:


Write a comment

8+7 = ?