10 August 2017

Carabao Cup: What time is the draw for the second round, which Premier League teams are involved and when will it take place?

THE first piece of silverware is well underway as the second round of the Carabao Cup draws near.

This stage will see Premier League clubs thrown into the mix, while clubs competing in Europe have received a bye until the third round.

Aston Villa could face rivals Birmingham City in the second round of the Carabao Cup
Getty Images – Getty

Southampton – last season’s runners’up against Manchester United, will learn their fate tonight, with the possibility of facing a daunting away tie to a League Two ground.


As well as the Saints, clubs will be targeting a major scalp on top-tier side’s such as West Ham, former League Cup winners Swansea City and ex-Premier League champions Leicester City.

Barnet, Bristol Rovers and Newport County are all among the clubs vying to progress further in the faint hopes at capturing glory at Wembley.

They will be hoping to replicate Bradford City’s success in the 2012/13 campaign where they claimed victories over the likes of Arsenal and Aston Villa before losing to the Swans in the final.

The top 25 teams from last season will also be seeded for the competition, meaning no Premier League side can face each other.

Here’s everything you need to know about the second round draw.

Burton Albion beat Oldham Athletic 3-2 after being 2-1 behind
Rex Features

When is the second round draw for the Carabao Cup?

The draw takes place on Thursday, August 10.

It should place immediately after Sunderland face Bury at Gigg Lane in their first round encounter.

What time will the second round draw take place?

Should the Black Cats’ match not go into extra-time, it is expected to be around 9:45pm – 10pm.

Leeds United beat Port Vale 4-1 at Elland Road in the second round
PA:Press Association

Where can I watch the Carabao Cup second round draw?

You can watch the draw live on TV on Sky Sports News, while you can also watch the draw on the Sky Sports Facebook Live page.

Alternatively, you can keep up-to-date with all the round-up with our live blog.

When will the second round matches take place?

The matches are due to commence from the week beginning on Monday, Thursday 21.

Sheffield United battled back from behind to beat Walsall at Bramall Lane

Which teams are seeded?


  • Southampton
  • AFC Bournemouth
  • West Bromwich Albion
  • West Ham United
  • Leicester City
  • Stoke City
  • Crystal Palace
  • Swansea City
  • Burnley
  • Watford
  • Hull City
  • Middlesbrough
  • Newcastle
  • Brighton
  • Reading
  • Sheffield Wednesday
  • Huddersfield Town
  • Fulham
  • Norwich City
  • Brentford
  • Cardiff City
  • Aston Villa
  • Leeds United
  • Sunderland (if they beat Bury)
  • Derby County/Grimsby Town

Which teams are not unseeded?


  • QPR
  • Birmingham
  • Burton Albion
  • Nottingham Forest
  • Blackburn Rovers
  • Wigan Athletic
  • Rotherham United
  • Accrington Stanley
  • Doncaster Rovers
  • Bristol Rovers
  • Charlton Athletic
  • Carlisle United
  • Rochdale
  • Millwall
  • Cheltenham Town
  • Barnet
  • Scunthorpe United
  • Newport County
  • Milton Keynes Dons
  • Bolton Wanderers
  • Sheffield United


  • Barnsley
  • Wolverhampton Wanderers
  • Ipswich Town
  • Bristol City

Keep up to date with ALL the latest transfer news and speculation with our live transfer feed

Have you signed up to play fantasy football yet?

If the answer is no you need to take a long, hard look at yourself.

Because the Dream Team game – the UK’s biggest fantasy football game – is back and better than ever this season.

You’ve got a £50m budget to pick 11 players, with all the biggest new signings ready and raring to go ahead of a mouthwatering new Premier League campaign.

So what are you waiting for? Sign up to play now!

Please follow and like us:


Write a comment

4+5 = ?